This recipe has been thoughtfully deemed “killer cheesecake” because if the 2 sticks of butter and 3 packs of cream cheese don’t give you a heart attack, the 2 cups of sugar don’t put you into a diabetic coma, the fire it sets to your house most likely will.

In preparation for an intimate gathering I will be attending tomorrow evening, I prepared this dessert for my ever so lucky friends.  I must point out the thousands of dollars invested into my education have not gone to waste.  I know this cheesecake is not the healthiest–that’s why I’m not going to eat the whole thing.  Simple as that.  Moderation at its finest.

So it seems as of late that myself and baking haven’t really gotten along (maybe because cavemen didn’t eat baked goods…?).  Do you remember the margarita cupcakes I made last week?  The ones where I forgot the butter and sugar?  Not my problem this time, not my problem at all.  There is more than enough butter and sugar to fit this recipe AND compensate for what I forgot in the cupcakes.  No this time my problem was with leakage onto immensely hot oven components.  Long story short, I was banished from the house after almost setting fire to it.  I am happy to announce that a few asthma attacks and a little teary eyed, everyone survived (including the cheesecake).

Killer (Cinnamon Bun) Cheesecake

Crust:

  • 1  3/4 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 stick butter – melted
  • 1/2 cup sugar

Combine ingredients, pressing into a 9 inch spring form pan.  Bake for 8 minutes at 350 F.

Streusel:

  • 1 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 sick butter – melted

Combine ingredients and set aside.

Filling:

  • 3 – 8 oz boxes of cream cheese
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 large eggs (added 1 at a time)

Beat together ingredients until smooth.  Pour half filling over crust.  Top with 1/2 of streusel.  Pour remaining filling over streusel.  Top with remaining streusel.  Bake cheesecake at 350 F for 50 – 60 minutes.

Topping:

  • 2 Tbsp butter – melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup powdered sugar (or more until desired consistency)
  • 3 tsp milk

Combine ingredients and whisk until smooth.  Add powdered sugar until desired consistency.  Drizzle over cheesecake.

I have some exciting news!  Thanks to Lee, who is excellent at volunteering me for things, I will be composing a few entries for the Anytime Health blog!  I’ll let you know when they’re live!

